Search form


What are T Levels? 

T Levels are a new two-year qualification for 16 to 19 year-olds that follows GCSEs.  

Equivalent to A Levels, they have been created in collaboration with over 250 businesses and are designed to give young people a head start towards the future they want. 


What does a T Level Include? 

80% College: The majority of the T Level is based at College where students are taught by experienced subject experts in an interactive and hands-on learning environment. At College, they’ll gain in-depth knowledge into their chosen specialism, and will develop industry-relevant skills.  

20% Work Placement: The T Level includes a nine-week work placement with a local employer. The placement gives students the opportunity to gain valuable industry experience, whilst further developing their skills and knowledge employers need.  


What T Level Subjects are Available? 

By 2023 onwards, the Government hopes to make 24 different T Level routes available nationally.  
Here, at Folkestone College, we currently offer T Levels in Education and Childcare and Onsite Construction.


What are the Entry Requirements? 

The entry requirements are a minimum of five GCSEs at grades 9 to 4 or equivalent, including English and mathematics.


How are T Levels Graded? 

Students who successfully complete a T Level will be awarded an overall grade of Pass, Merit, Distinction, or Distinction*, and receive a nationally recognised certificate.  

To achieve one of the above grades, students must complete their technical qualification (comprised of a ‘core’ component and one or more ‘occupational specialism’ components) and work placement, and meet the minimum requirements for English and mathematics (if they have not done so already).  


Is a T Level Worth the Same Number of UCAS Tariff Points as an A Level? 

One T Level is equivalent to three A Levels and is worth the same number of UCAS Tariff points overall.  

For example, if a student achieves a Distinction* in their T Level, it is equivalent to achieving three A*s at A Level. The T Level and the three A Levels are both worth 168 UCAS Tariff points.  

The table below shows how much each T Level grade is worth in UCAS Tariff points, and the equivalent A Level grades:  


UCAS Tariff points 

T Level Overall Grade 

A Level Grades 
168  Distinction*  
(A* on the ‘core’ and distinction in the ‘occupational specialism’) 
144  Distinction  AAA 
120  Merit  BBB 
96  Pass  
(C or above on the ‘core’) 
72  Pass  
(D or E on the ‘core’) 


What Can You Do After T Levels? 

After completing a T Level, students can enter: 

- Employment 

- University  

- An Apprenticeship 

- A Traineeship 

- Other further study 

Want to Know More? 

To learn more about T Levels, visit our T Levels page or email our friendly team: